Ontario has 17 new ridings for 2018

Voters in Ontario will send more representatives to Queen’s Park on June 7 than they have in nearly two decades.

This year, a total of 124 ridings will be contested. That’s 17 more ridings than the last election in 2014.

The new electoral map is a result of a riding redistribution process that was announced by Kathleen Wynne’s Liberal government in 2015. In August of that year, Wynne revealed that riding boundaries in southern Ontario would be redrawn to match those of their federal counterparts, which were themselves revised three years earlier.

According to Elections Ontario, the changes meant that 95 per cent of current ridings saw their boundaries shift in the most recent redistribution.

The 17 additional seats for 2018 are:

  • Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill.
  • Barrie-Innisfil.
  • Brampton Centre.
  • Brampton South.
  • Carleton.
  • Don Valley North.
  • Flamborough-Glanbrook.
  • Hastings-Lennox & Addington.
  • Kiiwetinoong.
  • King-Vaughan.
  • Kitchener South-Hespeler.
  • Markham-Thornhill.
  • Milton.
  • Mississauga Centre.
  • Mushkegowuk-James Bay.
  • Scarborough North.
  • University-Rosedale.

Redes Sociais - Comentários

Artigos relacionados

Back to top button